Blog Archives

WABA League Semifinals

Semifinal WABA

Note: Click on Photo to See in Full Size.


WABA League – Semifinals series start on Monday


The semifinal schedule for the WABA League 2011 has been announced. The semifinals involving the top four club teams in one of the most progressing basketball regions in the world will be played on a home-and-away basis in a best-of-three series.

All the semifinalists, incidentally, won their best-of-three quarterfinal series by a 2-0 margin.

Al Jala’a of Syria defeated ASU of Jordan 87-74 and 104-100 match wits with Iran’s Zob Ahan who overcame Lebanese league leaders Champville 70-69 and 80-76.

The other semifinal features twice defending champions Mahram of Iran, who routed Al Riyadi Aramex 95-62 and 95-63 against Lebanese giants Al Riyadi Beirut the WABA champions of 2008. Riyadi defeated Al Jeish of Syria 84-63 and 94-87 in the quarterfinals.

Zob Ahan and Mahram are also involved in a battle of qualifying with the team with the higher finish qualifying for the 22nd FIBA Asia Champions Cup.

Four teams are eligible to qualify from WABA for the 22nd FIBA Asia Champions Cup, but every National Federation allowed only one representation.

Mahram are also the twice defending champions in FIBA Asia Champions Cup.

Al Riyadi Beirut, who won back-to-back bronze in the 2008 and 2009 FIBA Asia Champions Cup and Al Jala’a who finished sixth in the 21st FIBA Asia Champions Cup at Doha last year, qualified for the 22nd FIBA Asia Champions Cup when they entered the semifinals.

Semifinal Fixtures

Game 1

28/02/2011 Al Jala’a Vs. Zob Ahan at Aleppo

01/03/2011 Mahram Vs. Al Riyadi Beirut at Tehran

Game 2

07/03/2011 Zob Ahan Vs. Al Jala’a at Esfahan

08/03/2011 Al Riyadi Beirut Vs. Mahram at Beirut

Game 3 (if required)

14/03/2011 Al Jala’a Vs. Zob Ahan at Aleppo

15/03/2011 Mahram Vs. Al Riyadi Beirut at Tehran

Note: Games in I. R. Iran will be tip off at 19:30 (local time). All other games at 18:00.

Source: FIBA Asia

WABA Play-Offs Teams Logo

WABA Play Offs 2011


WABA Play-Offs Teams

WABA Super League